innerscroll's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pear lady


I study Art History at Concordia University. I'm in my first year. I'm really enjoying the program only, as one who will draw and paint in her own time, it can get me down.
Some times I see movements of artists from a period who make their mark as if accidentaly. They come up with new and exciting ways of describing the world to their peers and this sets them on the right trac. I am jealous of the past and past influences. I'm jealous of them because coming up with new ideas was easier. There was simply more room for those new ideas to grow.

I have a general Art History class in which we examine the Art History Canon according to Gardner's book of Art History. We've only just finished seeing the Renaissance and are moving toward Mannerism. The Renaissance... it's double-sided really. New and fascinating descoveries were made and new life-styles were being adopted and accepted within the elite society. Education was the priority, to make a mark as a successful individual and even women were begining to gain some right to knowledge as well as material posessions. All this and perspective! The laws of mathematical perspective were redescovered. This means artists, as people and no longer as artisans, begen chosing their commissions.
Now, I say the Renaissance was two sided because it was a renewal of the Roman classical style, in principle. With the classical comes fierce control over the people and the environment. The church was increadibly powerful and allowed itself lavish luxuries at the expense of the loyal fallowers.

I'm just ranting now, but what I wanted to come to was simply that the now extremely famous Renaissance artists (Leonardo, Michelangelo, Raphael, Titian) were simply at the right place, at the right time. There were certainly artists of the time who were just as good, only not as popular because they did not share the strength of artistic values that those four did.
I just wish I could be at the right place, at the right time.

Please let me know what you think.

11:17 a.m. - 2005-02-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

damonjones
argos67